Oxera Economics Council

Oxera Economics Council

We believe in the importance of economics and that it will go a long way to deciding all our futures. So, as well as continually recruiting the best minds we can find to work for us, the Oxera Economics Council works with us to stretch the boundaries of economic thinking.

The group of ten of Europe’s most prominent academics meets in Brussels twice a year with Oxera and key policymakers to discuss the economic aspects of a broad range of issues, to lead debate and influence policy. When it was formed in 2008, Damien Neven, Chief Competition Economist at the European Commission, said the Council had a pivotal role to play in generating ideas and debate.

Chaired by Sir John Vickers, All Souls College, University of Oxford, UK, the Council has welcomed prominent guests including Kai-Uwe Kühn, former Chief Economist of DG Competition, and Philip Lowe, Director General for Energy. Professor Massimo Motta was a founding member of the Council.

Council members

Walter Beckert (Birkbeck College, University of London, UK)

Estelle Cantillon (Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)

Eric van Damme (Tilburg University, the Netherlands)

Natalia Fabra (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain)

Amelia Fletcher (ESRC Centre for Competition Policy, UK)

Chiara Fumagalli (Università Bocconi, Milan, Italy)

Bruno Jullien (Toulouse School of Economics, France)

Patrick Legros (Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)

Massimo Motta (ICREA and BGS at Barcelona)

Volker Nocke (University of Mannheim, Germany)

Sir John Vickers, Chair (All Souls College, University of Oxford, UK)

Topics covered