Loading Events

The future of digital: how can we ensure consumers and businesses benefit?


04 Feb 2021

The future of digital: how can we ensure consumers and businesses benefit?

Online -

Date: Thursday 4 February 2021

Time: 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm CET, 3:00pm – 6:00pm UK, 10:00am – 1:00pm EST

 

Join Oxera as we hear from various key players across two panels, as they address first how competition law enforcement and regulation can contribute to better market outcomes and secondly whether more regulation is needed, and if so what kind.

  • The first panel will address these issues at a strategic level, including discussions on the objectives and market outcomes policy-makers are aiming to achieve and the role and limits of antitrust policy in pursuing these.
  • The second panel will examine some of the more detailed proposals for change which could be applicable across jurisdictions worldwide.

The discussion will naturally cover antitrust issues such as access and interoperability as well as liability, copyright and data privacy. The discussions will touch on the debate around the EU’s proposed DMA/DSA package, the UK CMA’s latest proposals as well as the ongoing US litigation against platforms.

 

Speakers include:

  • Sir Philip Lowe, Oxera
  • Makan Delrahim, former Assistant Attorney General, US Department of Justice
  • Olivier Guersent, Director General for Competition, European Commission
  • Avantika Chowdhury, Oxera
  • Eliana Garces, Facebook
  • Thomas Vinje, Clifford Chance
  • Anne-Claire Hoyng, Booking.com
  • Bill Kovacic, George Washington University
  • Nicolas Petit, EUI, Florence
  • Rocio Concha, Which?
  • Robin Noble, Oxera

 

This event is not one to be missed, register below.

 

 

 

Details

Date:
February 4
Time:
3:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Online